Reviews

Curse Of The Golden Flower (滿城盡帶黃金甲) (man cheng jin dai huang jin jia)

Curse Of The Golden Flower (滿城盡帶黃金甲) (man cheng jin dai huang jin jia)

Release Date: 14th February 2007

Overall Rating: Rating Stars

Director: Zhang Yi Mou

Cast: Jay Chou, Chow Yun Fat, Gong Li

Descripton:
China, Later Tang Dynasty, 10th Century. On the eve of the Chong Yang Festival, golden flowers fill the Imperial Palace. The Emperor (Chow Yun Fat) returns unexpectedly with his second son, Prince Jai (Jay Chou). His pretext is to celebrate the holiday with his family, but given the chilled relations between the Emperor and the ailing Empress (Gong Li), this seems disingenuous. For many years, the Empress and Crown Prince Wan (Liu Ye), her stepson, have had an illicit liaison. Feeling trapped, Prince Wan dreams of escaping the palace with his secret love Chan (Li Man), the Imperial Doctor's daughter. Meanwhile, Prince Jai, the faithful son, grows worried over the Empress's health and her obsession with golden chrysanthemums. Could she be headed down an ominous path?

Rating Stars Reviewed by Hermione on 22nd September 2010

The movie was cinematically breathtaking as one would expect from a Zhang Yimou production. The acting was rather passe, as there is not much substance in any of the characters, very two dimensional. For Chow Yun Fatt and Gong Li, they are certainly capable of delivering more, but when the storyline is so flat, and the script so common, there is only so much they can do.

The plot where the younger son kills his elder brother out of jealousy is so unbelievably bad, I almost felt like the poor crown prince myself, with that same shocked expression. (What?! This is how my character gets killed off? Aargh!)

As for Jay, his acting is credible enough. Just chalk it down to getting more experience for his future movie career. It is also a good thing to work with Chow, Gong Li and Zhang Yi Mou.

Rating Stars Reviewed by Just My Pride on 13th September 2010

I just watched this movie once... But it did not catch my attention... If Jay Chou is not starring this film , I not even bother to watch... Since Jay is one of main character , ion the scale of 10, i would rate this movie as 8^^...

Rating Stars Reviewed by sarastar661@aim.com on 11th October 2009

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!! wat is wrong with u people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this movie is horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! one of the worst movie he was ever in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i hated it soooooo much!!!!!!!!!!! i mean i luvv jay chou but if i were him i would never even try out for this role for this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! >:(

Rating Stars Reviewed by jeffie on 6th June 2009

I am a big jay chou fan. I know all his song lyrics by heart, and I can play all the slow songs on piano. But I have to be honest, this movie was one of the worse films I've ever seen in my life. The first 2 hours is about a ridiculously complicated royal family where everyone wants to screw each other over. Amongst others, major themes consisted of adultery, incest, and bad parenting on the king and queen's part. The story was pretty flat and linear, and there wasn't much plot development nor character development; also, only til the very end, is there actually martial arts action for 10 minutes. I did not find this movie at all psychologically thrilling as others had said, but moreso a waste of time.

If you want to see good Jay Chou films, Secret and Initial D are the way to go. Fosho.

Rating Stars Reviewed by MARY547@AOL.COM on 3rd October 2008

I found this movie by accident while surfing thru channels. After only a few minutes, in the middle, not knowing what was going on and trying to read the sub-titles, I was hooked. To call this movie sumptious is an understatement. I was totally spellbound. The story line was fascinating; the costumes were fabulous; the sets inside the palace simply put me on overload. The matchless performance of the actors, who were so perfectly chosen for each of their roles, made me feel that I had stepped into the Tang Dynasty myself. But the one thing that caused sleepless nights was the song at the very end of the movie, which was sung by Jay Chou. That song is burned into my mind, and I can't hear it enough. This is a truly talented person.

Rating Stars Reviewed by TT9388 on 5th January 2008

Finially, I bought the DVD and watched last night, the movie is good, I haven't really listen to any of Jay's song before, but when I heard the song at the end of the movie, I think I started to love his song (菊花台), the song is very touching especially when I heard that again by the "Movie MTV version".
Good song as well as the movie again.

Rating Stars Reviewed by shibumi on 19th November 2007

The "Curse of the Golden Flower" is a visually ravishing film. Although historically not absolutely acurate, Zhang Yi Mou has been able to capture the opulence of the Imperial court. The story is the portrayal of the psychological dynamics among the members of the immediate imperial family and how the secrets and powerplay explodes and eventually destroys everyone in the process. Gong Li's portrayal of the effects of years of oppression, poison and the near psychological breakdown of the Empress is worthy of an Oscar nomination. Jay Chou comes into his own when playing opposite Gong Li's character. The scenes where he begins to understand the predicament of his mother and the eventual choice he has to make between his parents, marks it as his coming of age as an actor.

It is not a film that appeals to those looking for all action but for people looking for a psychological film, it is highly recommended.

Rating Stars Reviewed by vitaminjaychou on 11th March 2007

To be honest, When I saw the ad for the movie I wanted to watch it soo bad, most likely because Jay was in it. When I watched it, it was a good movie but I thought it would've been better. The violence doesn't freaking start until the end of the movie. The beginning is showing Gong Li drinking her medicine which was posion cause the kind changed the formula. I think the only reason alot of people watched this movie was because alot of big stars were in the movie. The movie was good but then I thought i would've been better. It is touching but then alot of people expected more fighting in it. I liked it still and I also bought the DVD already (the hong kong one cause the US one won't come out until like somewhere at the end of March). To be honest as much as I love Jay and I mean I probably love him more than anybody xP, his acting wasn't that well when it came to him when he needed to cry. During a scene he was trying to cry but couldn't and you could tell that he tried to in the tention in his neck but he did make a sad face and that was good enough and sooooo cute =].

Write A Review